Get A Library Card
To Obtain a Library Card...
- Valid current ID is required to obtain a library card. The preferred ID is a California Driver's License or a California Department of Motor Vehicles ID card. The alternative is a picture ID, and ID with your current address.
- For teens, age 15 -17 years, school ID plus parent or guardian signature on the library card application is required to obtain a library card.
- For minors 14 years old or under, the parent/legal guardian must be with the minor at the time of application. Note: There is no age limit for a library card; however, the parent/legal guardian must have ID as required for adults, or have a current PLS library card, with the same address and phone number as the minor child.
Most library cards expire in 3 years. Library cards issued to residents living in temporary housing expire in 3 months.
Teacher Library Cards
The South San Francisco Public Library offers Teacher Library Cards to teachers in our community. If you are a teacher, home school educator or day care provider living or working in our service area, and you have a personal library card in good standing, you are eligible for a Teacher Card.
To obtain an application, visit the South San Francisco Public Library or download the application here.
- No fines on
materialused in the classroom. Check out up to fifty items.
- Classroom and personal use material on separate library records.
- Request longer loan periods on selected materials used in the classroom.
- For use at any branch of the South San Francisco Public Library.
- Your Teacher Card may only be used for classroom materials and is not for personal use.
- Materials from other Peninsula Library System libraries will not check out to your Teacher Card.
- Please be aware that you are responsible for any lost or damaged material checked out
your Teacher Card. to
- Please complete the form below and bring it, along with your personal library card, to any branch of the South San Francisco Public Library.
- Your personal library card must be in good standing, meaning your card is current, you do not owe fines over $15.00, and you have no billed items.
Loan Periods and Renewals
Materials from any of the 34 public or community college libraries in San Mateo County may be requested through your account on the online catalog by placing a hold.
Most materials may be renewed up to five times if there are no holds on the materials. To renew without coming to the library, call TELECIRC (650) 638-0399 or use the .
Most library materials may be returned at any of the 34 public or community college libraries in San Mateo County. An after hours book drop is available for the return of items when the library is closed.
Cardholders have access to downloadable magazines, audio and text e-books through our digital collections. Cardholders have access to downloadable audio and text e-books through our digital collections. Click here for more information.
Adult materials: 25¢/day per item maximum $8 per item. (As a courtesy, seniors who are residents of SSF are not charged overdue fines on SSF materials).
* First library card - FREE; Replacement for a library card - $1
* Inter-library loan non-refundable fee is payable at time of request. The fee is $3.00 per item for South San Francisco residents and $5.00 per item for non-residents
* Lost/Damaged items - Cost of item plus a $5 processing fee
Fees can be paid online or in the Library, either at the Library Payment Center or at a Self-Check machine. Visa, MasterCard, cash and checks are accepted. For a full listing of Library fines and fees, please see the City's Master Fee Schedule.